PEACEFUL IS MĀKUA, OUR ʻĀINA

Robi Kahakalau, along with Kimié and Paula Fuga, sings her signature song “Mākua” to close out an amazing and mana-filled day at Mākua on Saturday, Sept. 22, 2018. Non-profits Nā Kama Kai, Sustainable Coastlines and Protectors of Paradise, along with Mālama Mākua, opened the day at 9 am with a clean-up of Mākua Beach with an estimated 800-plus folks fanning out along the mile-long beach. A Celebration of 15 Years of Peace in Mākua (no military live-fire training) began under the big tent set up in the Kulaʻilaʻi parking lot next to Mākua Beach at noon with incredible speakers and mele. A star-studded, three-plus hour concert then followed at 3 pm, featuring Nā Hoku Hanohano award winners Kimié, Mike Love, Paula Fuga and Sistah Robi, among others.


UPCOMING CULTURAL ACCESSES INTO SACRED MĀKUA

 

Aloha mai kākou! Below are the cultural access dates for the upcoming months. Free reservations are made through Eventbrite with links found below. Click here to sign up for our email list to be notified when registration for each cultural access opens.

 

SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 18, Makahiki opening ceremony


 

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 Lā Kuʻokoʻa registration coming

Saturday, December 8, 2018 registration coming

Friday, December 28, 2018 Hawaiian Kingdom Memorial Day registration coming

Saturday, January 5, 2019 registration coming

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 Hawaiian Kingdom government overthrow remembrance registration coming

Sunday, February 3, 2019 registration coming

Sunday, February 10, 2019 Makahiki closing ceremony registration coming

Saturday, February 23, 2019 registration coming

Sunday, March 10, 2019 registration coming

Saturday, March 23, 2019 registration coming

Saturday, April 6, 2019 registration coming

Thursday, April 18, 2019 registration coming

Start times for the cultural access will be determined a couple weeks before each access. Cultural accesses are led by Mālama Mākua and participants will need to be at Mākua at the start time to be able to go on the access.

Mahalo nunui!